Professional Educational Training
Substitute Teacher Training
A limited, short-call substitute teacher is one who teaches on a day-to-day basis that does not exceed 15 consecutive school days replacing the same teacher. A short-call substitute teacher must hold a Minnesota license that is valid for full-time employment or a Minnesota short call substitute license. These licenses are valid for functioning as a short-call teacher at all grade levels and in all fields.
Qualifications Required: Persons with a non-education bachelor degree from an accredited college may apply for a limited, short-call substitute teaching license.
About the Workshop:
- Participants will learn to:
1) Recognize the need for, and develop attributes of, a prepared and professional substitute teacher.
2) Feel confident utilizing skills for effective classroom and behavior management.
3) Recall district legal and educational issues in a time of need.
- Participants will be assisted in completing the online application as required by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board.
- Participants will be fingerprinted during the workshop so that the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board can perform a background check.
The Application Process
- All participants must apply to the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board to obtain a limited, short-call substitute teacher license. Attending this workshop does not guarantee receipt of this licensure.
- The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board accepts online applications only, with the exception of two pieces, the college transcript and fingerprint card for a background check. These two pieces will need to be mailed in after the online application is completed.
- Original transcripts in a college/university sealed envelope. Have the transcripts sent to your home address, but do not open the envelope when they arrive or they will no longer be considered official.
- Applicants who received their degree from outside the United States or its territories must forward their foreign transcripts to Minnesota-approved transcript evaluation service and submit the evaluation as part of their application for licensure.
- It is suggested that you request your transcript immediately.
- The application processing time for an initial license or an endorsement to an existing Minnesota license normally takes three to four weeks once all supporting documentation has been received in the licensing office. However, the processing time can take up to 12-16 weeks for applications received during our busy months of July, August, and September.
For more information, please visit the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board website.
Here is more information about the test with tips and materials to prepare for your test date. As of the beginning of the school year, all Title I Paraprofessionals in the State of Minnesota must be certified. Who should be certified educational paraprofessionals:
- Management Assistants
- Pupil Support Assistants
- Special Needs Paraprofessionals
The test will be timed. Once you begin the test, you have up to 2.5 hours to complete the test. There are 90 questions on the test.
You must present photo identification. Acceptable photo identification includes:
- A current valid driver's license.
- A current valid passport.
- Military identification.
- District photo identification.
- A photo student ID accompanied by an additional photo or signature ID.
There are no scheduled breaks during the test session. If you must leave the testing room briefly during the test session to use the restroom or to take medication, the 2.5 hour time limit will continue to count down. You will not be allowed extra time for a break.
Prohibited items in the Test Room
Use of any of the following items is not allowed in the testing room:
- Using a telephone or cellular phone during the test session.
- Leaving the test site during the test session (i.e. leaving the building).
- Communication in any manner about the test with any person other than the test administrator during the test session.
- Creating a disturbance for other test takers.
- Attempting to take the test for someone else or having someone take the test for you.
- Attempting to receive or give assistance to another person during the test.
- Tampering with the computer.
- Use of any of the following: compass, protractor, calculator, ruler, radio or CD player with headphones, dictionary, translator, or any other device.
Family members or friends are not permitted in the test room.
Any examinee that engages in misconduct or uses the prohibited items will be removed from the testing room and not permitted to finish the assessment. The individual will not be able to retake the test at Resource Training & Solutions testing site. The individual will need to contact ETS and take the paper and pencil version of the test at their own expense. No refund will be given in the event that an examinee engages in misconduct as described in this paragraph.